The Curious Case of John Richard Jeanneret

PASabreFan

I've been listening to Rick Jeanneret since Christmas of 1975. There haven't been many finer calls than his call of Jack's winner last night.

"Sizing up the situation" to build the drama. I don't think he's ever used that line.

"Cuts in front" to set the stage.

"He shoots, he scores!" — to use some classic hockey language. Excited, still under control.

"Jack Eichel coast to coast, rams it home!" to place it perfectly in the mind's eye.

"Can you believe it?" to harken back to some of his greatest calls.

And the familiar "ooooooooovertime."

Appropriate, because this one belongs.

In recent years, understandably, given health issues we knew about and also found out about later (pacemaker), Rick had one foot in Van Miller territory: a legendary play by play announcer who got caught on the rush by a furiously backchecking old age. You felt warm and fuzzy hearing his calls, but you felt deep down a long, melancholy goodbye was taking place because things would never be the same.

Now, suddenly, vintage Rick seems to be back. Well, maybe not vintage Rick. Maybe this Rick is even better. He's playing his own game, letting the game come to him. He sounds as comfortable in his own skin as anyone could.

Whatever fountain of youth he's drinking from — and I'm pretty sure it's bubbling with Molson's — we should all take a long drink.

Edited by PASabreFan

I think that part of the problem was the level of play during the t**k years. It was depressong, and probably wore on him as much as his health issues did. We actually have some exciting players lately, and the little shot of enthusiasm is showing in his calls.