Gerbe and Ennis

BuffaloSoldier2010

Was at the Ottawa game this evening and was blown away by the two little guys on the team, and so was Ottawa's defense. The guys were skating circles out there as they usually do, but tonight was very nice to see. Ennis buried two shots, deking Anderson out of his jock strap to open up the scoring and squeezing a second top shelf above Andersons' left shoulder. Gerbe ripped his shot from the left side of the ice to the top right of the net for a truly awe inspiring goal. I'm interested to see what the rest of you think about these two. I for one am a fan. I'm convinced these two are going to become staples in the sabres offense for years to come, but I'm new at the whole predicting rising stars thing. What do you guys think?

I think Chz was right when she identified Ennis as the new Briere last year.

I hope that Gerbe can play bigger than his size for a long career, but I don't think he can.

FWIW, Gerbe has 7 goals in his last 23 games. That comes out to 25 goals in 82 games if he could keep that pace up. I'm hoping he's still finding his place in the NHL and that he ends up a productive player for us long term.

I hope that Gerbe can play bigger than his size for a long career, but I don't think he can.

I absolutely agree with that one. I remember watching the 08 draft very intently, and was extremely excited when seeing that we picked up both Myers and Ennis in the first round. I can remember telling everyone i knew about Ennis especially, when the subject of the sabres came up. When watching the philly game where he scored his first goal in his first game i remember jumping off my couch and yelling "BOOM!! I told you this kid was good!!"

as for gerbe, I know the size is gonna be an issue, but I'd like to think that he's scrappy enough to survive. The kid has determination thats for sure, and with a little luck will hopefully find a niche role in the league.