Center vs. Winger

7+6=13

Not to beat a dead horse but I've admitted that I'm still learning about hockey.  I played street hockey everyday in the winter growing up in Buffalo but never played organized hockey.  Grew up loving the Sabres but never really totally understood hockey.  I've learned a ton from you guys, so wanted to ask serious questions that I don't know the answers to.  

What are a centers responsibilities vs a wingers?  I heard Liger say one time that contrary to what most people think -  a center doesn't mean he plays in the middle.  Can you help me better understand?

What skills make a center a center vs a winger?  In other words what does a player need in order to play there?

Why are centers hard to find?  I was listening to WGR today and Simon was saying Darcy once said, centers don't just fall out of trees.  This question is related to the second, but what makes them so rare?

Please feel free to go beyond the questions I've posed to help me.  I appreciate it.

Edited by 7+6=13

Centers are more responsible for going 200 feet helping D in front of the net, carrying the puck and having offensive prowess. Wingers tend to cover the points and rarely are responsible for going below the face off circle on D. On offense more responsible for going into corners digging out puck on Offense though Centers do it all and need to be your best skaters plus they take the majority of faceoffs. Wingers need to be able to be your best shots on offense. Some of the differences.

In addition to taking faceoffs, centers typically skate more than wingers. Simplistically: They have more defensive responsibility as they are the forward that plays lower in the zone helping the D. The wings responibility is to cover the D and the high slot.