Down 3 with 2 to go, would you pull the goalie?

PASabreFan

Would you have pulled your Johnson out with 2:01 to go?  

24 members have voted

1. 1. Would you have pulled your Johnson out with 2:01 to go?

• Of course. I'd have nothing to lose and as a new coach I'd be telling my team I believe in them and we never want to quit.
    • Of course not. You can't come back from that, it's just not done in hockey, and it could only make things worse.
    • I don't know. It's a really tough call.

Seth Griffith scored with 2:34 to go to make it 4-1. Housley did not pull the goalie for the ensuing faceoff at center, nor for another faceoff at center with 2:19 to go. That all could be a fun debate, but my question is about a faceoff with 2:01 to go in the Columbus zone. Johnson stayed in goal.

Risk vs. reward. The reward is you come back and steal a point, or two, somehow, someway. A very long shot, and I can't say it's been done because traditionally coaches throw in the towel. A bigger reward: you show your team you are never going to quit. That you are not a coaching dinosaur like the others. Jack hates to lose? I'd have to crawl into his mind and know what he was thinking before the faceoff. If he's fine with it, as 99% of fans and media were and are, well, he doesn't hate to lose that much. Jack should be thinking HE can score three goals in two minutes.

Risk? What is the risk? You lose 5-1 and further deflate the team? They did anyway. And maybe Johnson's confidence is even lower now, and the team's confidence in him, because he was left on the ice. Maybe an argument can be made about goal differential as a playoff tie-breaker, but that's Kramer vertvertvert out there.

Edited by PASabreFan

I'm okay with saying the game was lost by then and extreme measures weren't warranted.  In different situations, maybe that changes.  But in this case I would have been surprised if Housley had pulled The Big Johnson.