Let's try being optimistic!

thesportsbuff

We were all dealt a big blow when Boston eliminated Buffalo from the playoffs. I don't think many of us thought we would lose that series. Then we were forced to endure another boring offseason in which the biggest news story was buying out Tim Kennedy's contract. Needless to say, it's been a rough year for Buffalo sports fans. But let's put it all behind us. There's a lot to look forward to this year.

1. Ryan Miller put together the best season of his career last year. I don't see him tailing off too much, and it won't hurt having Morrisonn, a healthy Rivet, and possibly Mike Weber there to clear the crease.

2. Tyler Myers could become the face of this franchise down the road. He had a hell of a year as a rookie, I'm excited to see how much he's progressed and to watch him to dominate again this year.

3. Tyler Ennis -- hello Calder Trophy candidate! This kid was fun to watch in the limited time he spent here last year. Once he builds some long-term chemistry with the Vanek, Roy, etc there's no doubt in my mind that he can be an integral part of our offense. My expectations are probably a little too high at this point, but he's capable of meeting them. I hope he does.

4. A legit fourth line -- for the first time in recent history the Sabres may actually have an effective fourth line. McCormick - big & physical. Gaustad - big & faceoff expert. Kaleta - big & physical. That group scares me a hell of a lot more than Adam Mair and Raffi Torres. The same can be said about our third line aka veteran line: Hecht, Neidermayer, Grier. Very responsible players. Could be a real shut down line.

5. The 40th Anniversary jerseys/jersey change - I don't know the specifics off the top of my head, but isn't the Sabres winning % significantly higher in their current alternates? Making them the home/away seems like a sure fire way to turn things around! Also hopefully the new uni's are classy and do the past justice.