Any pickleballers here?

PromoTheRobot

Since I had to give up playing goal because of 1) heart issues 2) knee replacements 3) age, I started playing pickleball at the gym at our town hall. My wife suggested we go last February. She played a couple times and lost interest. Meanwhile I really took to it. I picked it up quickly since I play 4-6 times a week. I've gotten fairly competent. There is a rating scale called DUPR. I have never been officially scored but I'm guessing I'm just over 3.0.  I play with some strategy, my serves can be tricky and I can put a nasty spin on a drop shot.

I find that pickleball scratches the competitive itch hockey used to. It improved my heart function. It's a great work out without feeling like you're working out. Of course I upgraded my paddle twice, but I haven't crossed the $100 price point. (I bought a used $179 MSRP paddle for $50. It had a small split in the edging. I wrote the company asking how to fix it and they just sent me a new one!) Whenever I travel, to Buffalo or Maryland, and in February to Vegas, I always look up where there's a game I can join.

Anyone else here play?

Edited by PromoTheRobot

10 minutes ago, PromoTheRobot said:

Since I had to give up playing goal because of 1) heart issues 2) knee replacements 3) age, I started playing pickleball at the gym at our town hall. My wife suggested we go last February. She played a couple times and lost interest. Meanwhile I really took to it. I picked it up quickly since I play 4-6 times a week. I've gotten fairly competent. There is a rating scale called DUPR. I have never been officially scored but I'm guessing I'm just over 3.0.  I play with some strategy, my serves can be tricky and I can put a nasty spin on a drop shot.