Shootouts...

mrjsbu96

I've got to admit, I really enjoyed watching the shootout tonight. I've been playing hockey for 25 years, and officiated for 15, but times change and it definitely brings some excitement to a Monday night yawner - or in today's NHL a good hard-fought Thursday night game.

They aren't using it for playoffs and that is the right move.

What are the other thoughts?

I've got to admit, I really enjoyed watching the shootout tonight. I've been playing hockey for 25 years, and officiated for 15, but times change and it definitely brings some excitement to a Monday night yawner - or in today's NHL a good hard-fought Thursday night game.

They aren't using it for playoffs and that is the right move.

What are the other thoughts?

My thoughts are that I think I think like you think you think. :wacko:

I didn't like the idea of a shootout at all, but I guess I'm warming up to it a bit. Penalty shots are always exciting, and as the 'loser' still gets their point, I don't mind the 'winner' getting the W and the two points.

And I like that they didn't screw around with the sudden death 5-on-5 for the playoffs too.

And I like that they didn't screw around with the sudden death 5-on-5 for the playoffs too.

That's my fear, is that a few years down the road they will mess around with the playoff OT. Yes, a shootout is exciting; but there is NOTHING better than OT in the playoffs.

I just got done watching the Sabres/Lightening game on video. Gotta say, this free preview of Center Ice has me sold on the NHL again. I have seen most of all of the games, except the opener. I was skeptical, but I really like the new rules. The fact that the Lightening got nailed with so many penalties late in the game, and 3 in OT, illustrtates to me that the NHL is serious about taking the game out of the Ice Age (or is it the New Jersey Devils age?).

I guess I am not as up on some of the new rules as some of you. Let me ask a question: