Honoring servicemembers at sporting events

Hank

Like many other board members, I've never understood why we do this. It doesn't make sense to me. I don't know when or how it started. As a retired soldier, I would feel incredibly uncomfortable being out there on the ice/field and politely decline the invitation when offered to me. But to care enough to have a negative feeling about it? I don't understand that either. Personally, if you're someone who feels "uncomfortable" when someone is being honored I think it speaks volumes about your lack of character as a man. At least you are self aware enough to know you're an inferior man and you feel accordingly. Perhaps it's better to keep those feelings to yourself and not expose yourself as the weak, pathetic inferior man that you are. 

5 hours ago, Hank said:

Like many other board members, I've never understood why we do this. It doesn't make sense to me. I don't know when or how it started. As a retired soldier, I would feel incredibly uncomfortable being out there on the ice/field and politely decline the invitation when offered to me. But to care enough to have a negative feeling about it? I don't understand that either. Personally, if you're someone who feels "uncomfortable" when someone is being honored I think it speaks volumes about your lack of character as a man. At least you are self aware enough to know you're an inferior man and you feel accordingly. Perhaps it's better to keep those feelings to yourself and not expose yourself as the weak, pathetic inferior man that you are.  

I don't like them because they aren't genuine. They are paid advertisements.