Sources: NHL downsizes ‘Premiere’


‘The NHL’s original plan to have six of its teams open the regular season overseas next season has been downsized to four, sources told on Saturday. The Edmonton Oilers and Washington Capitals, part of the original six teams asked to participate, are no longer in the mix for the Premiere Games, the sources said. The New York Rangers, Los Angeles Kings, Anaheim Ducks and Buffalo Sabres remain slated to open next season in Europe.